The pioneers of Denver are the NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Champions.

In a tough game between the two periods, the Pioneers came back with five unanswered numbers in the third period to take down Minnesota St. Mavericks 5-1.

Minnesota made a strong start by scoring striker Sam Morton in a Powerplay game. But Denver turned the game around in the third inning.

Striker Ryan Barrow scored in 15:14, defender Mike Benning in 12:27. Striker Massimo Rizo scored four minutes before the end of the game, while forwards Brett Stapley and Cameron Wright added empty-net numbers to extend the lead.

The Pioneers are now tied with Michigan, which they defeated in the semifinals, including nine NCAA titles.

Benning, who had a goal and assists and a +3 rating in the tournament game, was voted the best player in the Frozen Four.

The championship team is also named after the game in which there were four pioneers: goalkeeper Magnus Krona, back goalkeeper Mike Benning, striker Carter Savoy and Ryan Barrow.

It was also called Minnesota St. Defender Jack McNally and striker Sam Morton.

More Sports News